I Want to Fit In

Politically Incorrect Social Studies

My Two Week Romance: Part 1

Posted by iwanttofitin on February 15, 2007

Yesterday a good friend of mine asked me if my “one week romance” would be posted any time soon. It never occurred to me to even think about using that story. First of all, it wasn’t even a “romance.” Not even close. Secondly, it was two weeks. I could push it to three if the clock starts at the first time I said “hello” is counted.

There are certain people who don’t like this story or the fact that this person even exists. Honestly, only one person doesn’t like her, and it’s a girl that tends to have a thing for me. So, a little later in the day I will be reminiscing about the 28 year-old red-head. My two week romance was cut short by hate. Or I just smell real bad…over the phone. Whatever. You’ll see.

The rest of the story-

Let me start off by saying that I pride myself in my intutition. This is not to say it’s perfect. Also, don’t assume by that statement that I am conceited. Sorry to say, I’m not cocky, just honest. This 28 year-old red-head is where my intutition either failed me completely or this girl (woman?) doesn’t know what she’s doing. That or I obviously don’t. But that could never be the case.

Enough rambling. I was finishing up my Finance degree during this past summer and taking four classes to do it. That’s irrelevant I know. One of these classes was a Real Estate Finance class. Don’t ever take it if you have to take it with Bille Brotman. Just a nice little warning. I’m sitting in class the first day and in walks this red-head that I’ve seen previous semesters and sort of had a thing for. One of those things where you’d never do anything about it because you really weren’t interested enough. Or in my case, I was too much of a pansy to approach her and say, “Hey babe, you don’t know me but I think you’re a total cutie. Give me your number and I’ll call you in 3 or 4 days.” First impressions are all about looks, I know, but it just seems stupid to me. I’ve gotten along quite well without approaching random girls-present situation excluded. When the red-head walks in, everything changes. She’s now in my class! Odds that I’ll say something go from 0% to 25%! Awesome! Now all I have to do is figure out how to do that. As I previously stated, the random approach isn’t my thing. It has to be clever. Possibly sneaky. One of those, “Sorry, didn’t mean to bump into you. Oh, you’re phone fell out of your purse and I happened to press a couple buttons and your number showed up. Dang my memory! It’s in my head forever. I’ll call you in a few days to make sure you’re alright from our collision. Is that a deal?” That would be clever. It’s too good that I would never be able to pull it off. I was thinking of something more simple.

As I sit in class each day with my heart pounding with anticipation and thought of how to talk to her, I notice one thing. She hasn’t been coming to class regularly! Wait a minute! This is going to be uber hard.

The next chapter of this story will be posted later today or tomorrow. It was originally supposed to be one post, but obviously I’ve gotten carried away.

For part 2 click here.

Leave a Reply

 
