I Want to Fit In

Politically Incorrect Social Studies

Doing Something That Scares Us

Posted by iwanttofitin on March 10, 2007

A friend of mine posted some of his pictures from New York of a graffiti building that got a lot of attention. There seemed to be a lot people who enjoyed them; even those who traveled past the building every day to work. I thought, hey I’ve got some cool pictures of California I could post, but then I thought, “Wow, my first rappelling trip was a lot of fun and we took a ton of pictures. I’ll share those.”

Two of my friends had been rappelling years ago and always wanted to do it again and an old youth pastor of their’s was certified so we called him up and set a date. I really didn’t know what to expect but the thought of hanging off a cliff (even if it wasn’t all that high) was a little freaky to me. I like to be in control of what I’m doing and having to rely on someone below me as my safety didn’t sit well with me.

We set a date and went for it. We started of small (about 40 feet) and worked out way up to about 100 feet off the ground. That was high for us. More experienced rappellers and rock climbers do this much higher off the ground.

Rappelling is pretty simple in how it works. You’re hooked up to a rope with some gear and you sort of gracefully fall down the side of a cliff. The gear and rope give you safety and a controlled rate of decent. Your hand controls your speed. Your back is facing the ground and your head is facing the sun. Simple as that, but for those who having done it before (like me) it is a strange feeling. You want your feet to dangle but you will crash into the rock face and hurt yourself pretty bad.

Here are some pictures of my experience:

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

One Response to “Doing Something That Scares Us”

  1. Where did you do this? I can’t remember.

Leave a Reply

 
