I Want to Fit In

Politically Incorrect Social Studies

A Wikipedia Game That Is Utterly Addictive

Posted by iwanttofitin on March 27, 2007

This morning, before work, I came across an interesting Wikipedia game. The game is very simple. You start with a search term (in my case, I chose Wendy’s) and click to another Wikipedia article from that page and see how many it takes you to get back to your original topic. You can’t cheat and go back a page if you don’t like where your headed. Take a look at mine and see how I tried to get back to Wendy’s quickly and it just wouldn’t work. Of course, I HAD to finish. It took me 45 pages to get back to the Wendy’s page. A lot of fun. Try it. You’ll be glad you did. Imagine Six Degrees of Separation but with it taking many more than six pages. I’ve seen it done in a dozen. Try to make the next page or two completely off topic. It makes it more challenging.

Wendy’s
A&E Biography
Mao Zedong
Poet
Occupation
Professional
Quality standards
Management
Corporation
Shares
Stocks
Stock Exchange
Investors
Businesses
Social Science
Pragmatism
Humanist
Human nature
Cultural
Consumption Goods
Goods
Consumer
Households
Family
Capitalist
Pricing
Product
Brand Management
Procter & Gamble
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
Public Health
Water Supply
Tap Water
Fountain
Splash Pads
Drowning
Death
Poison
Food Taster
Food Poisoning
Food Safety
Meat
Fat
Obesity
Fast Foods
Wendy’s

5 Responses to “A Wikipedia Game That Is Utterly Addictive”

  1. newmw said

    Wow, hahah, that is amazing! If I got some time left I got to try it.

  2. I started with “camera” because there was one right in front of me. From there (and only using links I could see immediately without scrolling):

    visible spectrum
    electromagnetic radiation
    infrared
    infrared spectroscopy
    Spectroscopy
    telescope
    focus (optics)
    aperture
    photography
    photograph
    camera

  3. That’s much shorter than mine. If I had done the same thing, it probably would have taken me much longer than 45 links.

  4. I did a new one:

    Crayon
    Paraffin
    Hydrocarbon
    Chemical compound
    Oxygen
    Algae
    Organic matter
    Organic compound
    Hydrogen
    Chemical element
    Carbon
    Graphite
    Pencil
    Drawing
    Crayon

  5. Hi said

    I got:

    Google
    Google Search
    Google

    That was easy.

Leave a Reply

 
