I Want to Fit In

Politically Incorrect Social Studies

Time Travel is Impossible No Matter What YOU Think

Posted by iwanttofitin on March 30, 2007

Time travel is a fascination with many people. I am one of them. Every once in a while I’ll imagine what I’d do if I could go back in time. Almost always, it has something to do with how I make myself rich today. Typically, the ending turns me into a multi-billionaire. Why settle for a couple million?

This morning was one of those days and it compelled me to write about my thoughts on how time travel is absolutely impossible. It can in no way work. There are two main reasons that have always been the problem as far as I’m concerned. These ideas benefit from my lack of schooling on the subject. I am not caught up in the technical nature of time travel. Common sense has come into play and it completely destroys any notion of time travel. I’m not going to get into the whole space/time continuum trash or any other weird stuff like worm holes and black holes.

This is Part 1 because Part 2 is easily understandable in my head but it takes thinking in the present, past, and both at the same time to get it. Writing it out for someone else to read is a whole other matter.

Part 1: Only the Machine Travels?

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at PhotobucketThe actual machine was never a problem for me until recently. When you watch movies like Back to the Future and The Time Machine (the old one) you never really think about it, but the only objects traveling through time just so happen to only be the actually piece of machinery and its passenger. Ok. As long as you don’t try to explain it, I’ll watch. But it doesn’t work.

The machine: Let’s say it takes 1,437 parts to make a time travel machine. Done. We’re ready to travel. If only it were that easy. What makes only the machine travel? What about the surrounding area? Is it only what the machine touches? If that’s the case, then the whole earth and universe would time travel with it.

Let’s say an inventive person (he’d have to be if he made a time machine) made it so there was this energy field of some sort that encompasses the machine and traveler and everything inside is affected. As you can see we are getting into even more impossibilities to get the impossible to work, but this is to show how truly impossible time travel is. If everything in the energy field Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobuckettravels, then so does air or anything else you bring with you. Would that mean that every time you took a trip that there would be less air on the present earth and more on the old? What if you took gold or diamonds back with you. That would mean the precious metal and stone count on earth would be less and the old earth would have more. Now we are getting into the weird scientific stuff. I’ll quit there.

As you now understand, there is no way to know what would travel in time with the machine. Obviously the machine doesn’t know what it’s doing. Man made it so it will do what it was intended to do. But why did the tires time travel with the Delorean? What told them to?

Hopefully Part 2 will make sense. I almost got into it with the air and gold thing so you should have an idea of where Part 2 is headed.

2 Responses to “Time Travel is Impossible No Matter What YOU Think”

  1. alotofgoodways said

    Even if it was possible, which it isn’t, I wouldn’t partake in any time-travelling activities, anyway.

    It creeps me out. What’s done is done, and what will happen will happen.

  2. Hi said

    That sounds like a valid argument against time-travel, but not the most convincing one I’ve heard. Ever heard of the Grandfather paradox?

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Grandfather_paradox

Leave a Reply

 
